Happy Mothers Day!

Cards, candy, flowers, and jewelry. The foundation brick and mortar for mother’s day gifts. It dwarfs Father’s Day, Valentine’s Day, and any personal relationship themed holiday besides your wedding anniversary. Mothers get the grunt work. They sacrifice their bodies for a year. Not 9 months, because even after the baby is in the world they still must heal physically and mentally. Sometimes the mental can be more dramatic than the physical. So with that in mind mother’s day ranks pretty high up on the list. I didn’t know that once that baby shoots outs that body is no longer the same.  You pee when you laugh, jump on a trampoline, or sneeze. But you do it all with a smile and carry on. Moms pick out boogers that don’t belong to them from screaming babies. I cringe every time I see a snot bubble pulsing on our little man.

As dads we are good at tossing kids around, drinking beer, and barbecuing. I would say at being the sports advocates but I have seen some serious football, soccer, and any other sport moms. They can be pretty intimidating. So to the kissers of boo boo’s and warmers of hearts we thank you. You sing praises for the small victories of putting the seat down and washing hands. You put up with the big daddy kid that watches football all day Sunday, and Monday nights, and Thursday nights.  Oh yeah and Saturday for college football. We love your success in the kitchen and mystery meals. There is no replacement for these women in our lives.

To my mother. Though you may drive me crazy at times I know in your heart you are a good person. You are strong willed and determined. It is your drive that is one of my strengths and I love you no matter what, even if we don’t agree.

16944_1079252757609_907125_n

To my Godmother. You are the picture of beauty and grace. In some of my most alone times, when no one knew, your home was a sanctuary to me.

18301755_10212206505934323_3235226072092131942_n

To my Sisters. You two have been fountains of wisdom. Brandi I could write a whole book on how you have been the most amazing person in my life.

10622782_1447027098949749_4868965721608809771_n

To my beautiful wife Erin. What can I say that would be enough? My rock, my friend, mother to our beautiful little one. I love you more and more each day. It is magic to see you with our family. You are magic and our boys worship the ground you walk on. You are the perfect mother to our family. Happy Mother’s Day! I love you!

18119033_10203329297629252_4340108371493075926_n

One thought on “Happy Mothers Day!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Doctor Kate's Info Blog

a resource for parents looking for answers about vaccines (and other assorted medical stuff)

Poor Mans Blood

Under the bridge. Into your heart.

Daddyness Blog

The average knuckle-dragging man, who's also a dad.

Travel & Design

You choose the way , We go with you

Tiny Terrorist Survival Guide.

'This "guide" isn't going to help anyone' - Daily Mail

Born Whole

Beyond every face is a heart

Inside A Poets' Cage

Author of Poetry & Erotica

MOMtessori Life

Living the Montessori life as a mom with two young children

Bubbles and Beebots

Because children are people too... really weird little people.

Eclectic Elcie

Occasionally, between caring for family, home, and friends, I have time to express my opinion and/or share some of my experiences.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

